Growth Through Accountability

“The only consistent feature of all my past dissatisfying relationships is me.”

The term relationship applies not only to people but to situations, tangibles and ideas. In my former life of substance abuse many were the relationship I had that I looked to blame the other side for my negativity. I would look to blame coworkers for their lack of contribution to the team; I would look to blame circumstance for not providing me what I wanted; I would look to blame the belief in a system for not being able to supply me with a feeling of completeness; I would look to blame my relationship with alcohol for all of my terrible decision-making. Wherever there was a problem I could be certain to find that the fault laid with anything but me.

Getting sober was the first step in self-discovery in which I began to find the truth of the matter. The truth was that I spent years looking to condemn any and everything else for my problems. The truth was that I spent too much energy blaming and not enough energy taking full responsibility for my thoughts, words and actions. When I fully realized the concept of accountability I found the strength necessary to free myself from the shackles of self-pity, self-centeredness, self-doubt and self-limiting beliefs.

A wonderful transition into a new way of thinking occurred. By seeking truth I found my true self. I identified my fears that kept me from growing, from learning, from living a life that I am capable of living. I found a way to live fully with full responsibility and to love fully.

I am still learning to love myself. There is, however, no longer a fear to fully love those in my life that enrich my existence, that compel me to move forward, that help to let me feel whole. I am no longer burdened and broken and looking to blame. I am happy.

Show massive gratitude at all times. I am grateful for my  sobriety.

2 thoughts on “Growth Through Accountability

  1. Glenn,

    Let me first say that I really enjoy reading your blog. Your writing is amazing.

    I find so much truth in this post. It takes a certain type of person to be able to look at their situation for what it really is and be able to say, “Hey, maybe it isn’t so and so’s fault. Maybe it’s me.” I have seen so many people (myself included) go through trying to blame their childhood, their parents, their family, spouse, girlfriend, boyfriend, co-workers etc. for the reasons they abuse substances. To be able to stop blaming everyone else and accept responsibility for your actions is a really big deal. It’s definitely not easy, but I have found that it seems to be a very positive step towards recovery.

    *Annabelle

    1. Thank you so very much for your feedback Annabelle! I need to know that there are people out there that can understand and relate. It is very important for me to “get the crazy out” and I am grateful for your appreciation. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

